Hide and Seek

105
For Christmas of 2010, after reading a devotional story about giving God a Christmas present, I decided to go to Temple for a year. Within a month, I began to see the man I would marry. 10 months later, he died of cancer.

This year, I read “Let Yourself be Found”, from a CS Lewis advent devotional. He writes, “The avoiding, in many times and places, has proved so difficult that a very large part of the human race failed to achieve it. But in our own time and place it is extremely easy. Avoid silence, avoid solitude, avoid any train of thought that leads off the beaten track. Concentrate on money, sex, status, health, and (above all) your own grievances. Keep the radio on. Live in a crowd. Use plenty of sedation. If you must read books, select them very carefully. But you’d be better to stick to papers. You’ll find advertisments helpful, especially those with a sexy or snobbish appeal.”

This is the first time I have been able to stop avoiding things enough to want to give Him a gift again.

Here I will blog where He shows up in the silence, the solitude, and off the beaten track I pray to keep my feet on. It’s a birthday gift to Him. My prayer is keeps alive in our hearts both that anticipation of being found, and its assurance.

Leave a Reply

