mercy

way1 Corinthians 10:13 “No testing has overtaken you that is not common to everyone. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tested beyond your strength, but with the testing he will also provide the way out so that you may be able to endure it.”

Turns out I can keep my word both to the man I minister with and to the inmate.

Tonight I talked with the woman with a violent history about how I wanted to start a house but hadn’t got it going yet. Because of this I visited someone doing what I wanted to do last Saturday, an hour away. I also told her how I had thought she might do better, with her things, if I didn’t have to bring her back and forth to the shelter. I asked if she was open to staying at this house, if I made inquiries for her. She was. She told me about some physical limitations she had and she saw this as possibly a better option for her too.

God made a way for me when my idea was too narrow and black and white.

Now I have to trust Him to do that with something even dearer to my heart. It’s the same type thing. I look at it and it’s seems black and white – one way or the other. His way happens where no way is. He makes it.

The woman that did her 5th step with me last week was very peaceful.

That same jail minister that I promised I wouldn’t take a woman into my home gave me Sr Faustina’s journal. It in he marked a passage she wrote about taking on other’s suffering and in other places too – she would lighten the burden of someone.

At the time I remember thinking that Christ is the only one that pay for our sins, and that couldn’t be. But now it’s different to me… if we are crucified with Him, then I suppose that is what we do in Him.

It was a rough week for me as I grappled turning her 4th into an 8th. I felt like I was showing up after going through some sort of spiritual skirmish and she was relieved for awhile.

I’ve been told that it has to be like water off a duck, but I am a sponge, not a duck. I want to be a duck. But I don’t waddle and quack.

Lord Jesus I thank You for dying for me, for all of us. I am carrying the cross You want me to and doing just what You put before me. Forgive me that I dive into things too easy, keeping me from this kind of joy and service that I love. The best You long to give me always. Thank You for keeping after me. Help me to continually give all their burdens to You and point to You. Grant that I take good care of this temple You are living in so we can continue on this amazing journey together. Keep me close, Lord. Help me to trust You with all that is in me.

Leave a Reply

