Hebrews 6:19

anchor

During one of my sessions a few years ago with a spiritual director, I was reflecting on the fact that I’d moved every few years. Some of it was circumstances and following after where the Spirit led and some of it was fear of commitment. God works it all for good and I could see that, but I also recognized how I could slow that down. I knew I needed to stay put and heal – but my heart still wanted to bolt.

When expressing what I lacked, the director suggested it was like I had no anchor.

That same week, the following verse came up in a bible study, maybe it was a devotion, and then someone from my husband’s church was given the same verse to share with me. I’ll back up a few verses for some context, (from the New Jerusalme translation:)

Hebrews 6:17-19 “In the same way, when God wanted to show the heirs of the promise even more clearly how unalterable His plan was, he conveyed it by an oath, so that through two unalterable factors in which G-d could not be lying, we who have fled from Him might have a vigorous encouragement to grasp the hope held out for us. This is the anchor our souls have, reaching right through inside the curtain, where Jesus has entered as a forerunner on our behalf, having become a high priest for ever, of the order of Melchizedeck.”

This was not one of these immediate fixes- though I believe the Holy Spirit does that. It’s been a gradual process for me in this particular area, and He’s shown me a little as to why that is, given how quickly I was reunited with and then lost Jim. Despite the short time, the commitment to him has helped my ability to be steadfast for others.

This past Friday, the woman I am working with who has the book contract from her jail journals, shared with me that the pastor, (a writer), who visits her every Tuesday to edit her notebooks, is having her frame the story in our visits every Friday. She narrates the events to me. He said that I was the anchor.

Father G-d I thank and praise You for the amazing work You are doing and for granting me the grace to hold fast to what I see Your Spirit doing and prioritize it. Continue to work in these inmates lives to bring light to that place, to make those in the same communities aware of their needs and meet them, and to heal us as individuals through Your best plans along the way. It’s like magic, the wonder of how You work. Give us eyes to see it it, ears to hear You, and imaginations to foster Your vision. You amaze and delight me.

Leave a Reply

