Engineer Log Entry 104: USS Baruch HaShem, April 14, 2020

9f405437-ee77-46d4-a4fa-0235642ba358

The noon prayer time with Cambridgeport yet again blessed me and the pastor put us into breakout rooms to pray in 3s.  What was also a blessing is that he was open with us that he had never tried it before, (so we would not be offended if something went wrong and it dropped us), and that I got to be a part of this journey with them.  We are all a family of God and I know this because the Bible says so – and that’s all church has felt like for far too long and today, it’s because I experienced that truth with an extended family striving to build each other up.  Transform Church everywhere Lord and help me to be a part of it where You plant me.

This work week is still 4 days and the latest is we are moving to 3 day weeks starting next week, but we will still be paid 4 of them.  I am thankful and a little in awe with all that is happening, I have work and the work is as enjoyable from home as it is at the office, though I do miss seeing and being around people.  I know we all do. I am going to now pray for us out of Hebrews 10 and one of my favorite passages that was in the Beth Moore study today, (it’s final week – sigh),  Proverbs 30:7-9.

Lord Jesus, we miss each other.  We trust You are more than enough for all our needs and we trust Your word, which encourages regular fellowship.  I pray Hebrews 10 verse 25’s admonition from the ICB version, “You should not stay away from the church meetings, as some are doing.  But you should meet together and encourage each other.  Do this even more as you see the Day coming.”  Lord, move in us to find new ways to meet, encourage, love, and spur one other on in You.   

Lord, I thank You for the abundance You have blessed me with which feels almost like it may be too much.  As I close in prayer tonight, please increase in Your people this truth in these two things in their lives.  If they are not content for any circumstantial reason that could help their hearts, move in and change, increase or decrease, draw back to Yourself. 

Proverbs 30:7-9 ICB “I ask two things from You, Lord.  Don’t refuse me before I die.  Keep me from lying and being dishonest, and don’t make me either rich or poor.  Just give me enough food for each day.  If I have too much, I might reject You.  I might say, “I don’t know the Lord.”  If I am poor, I might steal.  Then I would disgrace the name of my God.”

Lord, I know at times You will give us over to our ways.  I also know, like Paul, because of Your son, we can be content no matter the circumstances, in You.  (Philippians 4:13 “I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.”)  Decrease our strength and increase Your strength in us.  I call on your infinite goodness, mercy, faithfulness and love to rebuke us Lord if we have allowed ourselves to feel spoiled or deprived, change us to ask for help, give like never before, or both.  Please grant Your best in our lives.  Amen.

Leave a comment